top of page
  • Writer's picture♫Shokolatte♬

Meeting Legends



One of the reasons that's holding me back in Brooklyn is I'm genuinely a hip-hop head and I am comfortable being around the origins of hip-hop. Since I got my first records of Run DMC and Bestie Boys as a kid, I had this dream to live where everything is hip-hop. I have reached this goal some years ago when I "officially" moved to Brooklyn (though I have visited here in and out since late 90s) and I'm still liking it and enjoy exploring the world of hip-hop daily.


Yesterday I had a chance to have moments with one of the hip-hop legends, Stetasonic after their 40th anniversary show in Brooklyn. Again, I am blessed to have opportunities like this without making special arrangements as long as you live in Brooklyn. Every time, it feels like a dreams come true, but it's also mad real in here.


To be extremely honest, I was not really the biggest fan of them, I think I was too young to catch up with everything of their songs when they were at their peak, but I do remember my friend's mom was a big fan. She had their records along with Afrika Banmbaataa's and some DeBarge's albums in her shelves which I remember clearly to date. My friend and I used to play her records without her permission and I know she wasn't too happy about it (sorry mom!).




But now am I making her proud? I hope so. She letting us play her records (even though it was without her permission at times) while I hang out at their home after school, is part of the reasons I made it here. I really miss my high school bestie and her mom right now and would love to show this picture to them, telling them how sweet Daddy-O and Wise of the Stetasonic were. Guess it's time for me to look them up on Facebook? Probably so... :)



I also remember, as a non-native English speaker, I learned the phrase, "(and) all that jazz" from this song. This is only a piece of it but just as I said, hip-hop is pretty much the roots of everything that I am now.




Thank you, hip-hop - my life is not complete without it, and all the legends I was fascinated by growing up.







Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page