top of page
  • Writer's picture♫Shokolatte♬

MTA Fair Fares

Updated: Apr 16, 2020



At the end of 2019, NYC announced that MTA (New York City subway) will start issuing 50% discount MetroCards for eligible NYC residents - simply put, low-income folks like me. The idea seems to have been postponed because I was expecting it to happen around September, 2019. But anyways. I am so flat damn eligible and when the online window finally opened in February, I applied - I think I was one of the first applicants like a dog wagging its tail.















I submitted the copies of my 2018 tax return and my ID, and I had to wait a couple of weeks to see this-----

Bam!



Ok, so now I applied, was approved. Now what?


Another week passed. Waited another day..... Waited........ And waited............



As of March 2nd, I finally received this in mail!! :)

It just looks like all the other regular MetroCard so I had to write "Fair" on it. Yay, love you my "Fair"!




And this was my first ride. I charged $20 on the card and the system only credited $1.35! (I couldn't catch the actual "PAID" number but just figure it's $20 - 18.65 = $1.35).





Actually the 50% of the regular $2.75 should be $1.375, so it's actually more than 50% discount. Nice!!!

I think I'm gonna travel a lot this year (on subway but shhhh)! I hope the current virus spread doesn't get worse!!




You can apply for the half price MTA MetroCard from here >>> https://www1.nyc.gov/site/fairfares/index.page


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page